Against the Tide by Elizabeth Camden

When Lydia Pallas, a translator for the US Navy, meets Alexander Banebridge, her neat, orderly life gets disrupted in ways she never expected. Before meeting “Bane,” Lydia is wrapped up in making money so she can purchase and stay in her home. After meeting him, she gets caught up in fighting for a cause and consequently, for her life.

When I started Against the Tide by Elizabeth Camden, I wasn’t sure I was going to like it, but before I knew it, I got sucked into the story. The characters are realistic, full of the little quirks that make you love them. Camden does a great job of revealing their personalities and helping you understand the whys behind their words and actions.

The plot of Against the Tide was surprisingly similar to Unending Devotion, the Jody Hedlund book I reviewed last week. Though I enjoyed them both, I felt this one had a more satisfying ending, perhaps because there was more at stake for Lydia and Bane. That said, I’d recommend either book if you’re looking for a page-turner.

*I received a copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my review. My opinion of this book is my own and was not influenced by the publisher or the author.

3 thoughts on “Against the Tide by Elizabeth Camden

  1. Nice review 🙂 I read this book earlier this year and it was AMAZING! I also didn’t know what to expect from Camden, however she did an amazing job. The depth, suspense, tension, romance, humour and history really sealed the deal for me! Next book on my list: Into The Whirlwind.

      • I have just stated reading it. The beginning however is slow with a lot of detail, but I’m sure that the more the story progresses, the more interesting it will become! Despite all that, all I want to do is sit down and read it 🙂

Leave a comment