Introverted Thankfulness

Happy Thanksgiving weekend, readers!

Today wraps up my thankfulness posts (at least for awhile). I was planning to post yesterday, but, well, it was Thanksgiving. I was busy playing games, watching Veggie Tales, and eating turkey and assorted carbs with my in-laws. And then we didn’t get home until 12:30 a.m.

Today I’m thankful to be the shy, introverted type. (And that’s why this is a written post, not a vlog. I can’t see myself ever creating a vlog. Watching them, on the other
hand . . . Have you seen the Lizzie Bennet Diaries? I’m hooked.) I never thought I’d be thankful for these personality traits, but when I think about it, I’m super glad I’m not an extrovert. It just seems exhausting. But maybe that’s just because I’m an introvert. (Nothing against extroverts—I wouldn’t make it through life without you!)

In the last six or so years, I’ve gotten over being painfully shy. Enough so that some people are surprised when I tell them I’m an introvert. I still get knots in my stomach when I have to go to unfamiliar places with unfamiliar people. But meeting a few new people doesn’t cripple me anymore.

Growing up, my best friend, Anne-Marie, was the most extroverted person I’d ever met (she still is). In that respect, we couldn’t be more opposite. She used to strike up conversations with complete strangers all the time, and I was happy to have her do it so I didn’t have to. (I’m also thankful for all fifteen years of Anne-Marie’s friendship. We met in fourth grade!) What a blessing! But it also horrified me. Not because I thought it was a bad thing, but because I didn’t understand why she was able to do it and I wasn’t. I hated myself for being so afraid. So why am I thankful now? What changed? Well, there are a few things.

1) I’ve realized being shy has made me a good listener (most of the time) and observer. I’m often able to remember details others don’t. This really comes in handy when my husband and I meet new people. He does the talking and I remember their names.

2) I’ve come to terms with the way God created me. I’m this way for a reason, and He’s allowed me to use who I am to bring Him glory. Who am I to complain about that?

Read my other thankfulness posts here, here, and here.

Leave a Reply

