Understanding World Religions in 15 Minutes a Day by Garry R. Morgan

Understanding World ReligionsI’ve always had an interest in learning about religions. I’m a Christian, but I think it’s important to understand other religions because it helps you understand other people. My beliefs are a core part of who I am, and I imagine people of other religions feel the same way.

So I was excited to review this book. I’ve also read So What’s the Difference? by Fritz Ridenour and I took a world religions class in high school. Despite my interest and previous experience with the topic, this book still taught me things I didn’t know.

Understanding World Religions in 15 Minutes was a great read. Morgan gave an overview of religion in general and covered each of the following religions:

  • Roman Catholic Christianity
  • Eastern Orthodox Christianity
  • Protestant Christianity
  • Evangelical Christianity
  • Animism and Folk Religions
  • Native American Religions
  • African Traditional Religions
  • Judaism
  • Zoroastrianism
  • Islam
  • The Nation of Islam
  • Baha’i
  • Hinduism
  • Jainism
  • Sikhism
  • Buddhism
  • Confucianism
  • Taoism
  • Shinto
  • Secular Humanism
  • Cults, “Isms,” and Contemporary Religious Movements
  • The Unitarian-Universalist Association
  • The Unity School of Christianity
  • The Unification Church
  • Christian Science
  • Scientology
  • Mormonism
  • Jehovah’s Witnesses
  • Neopagan Religions
  • New Age Religions
  • Transcendental Meditation

Each chapter is only about three pages long, making it easy to read when you only have a few minutes. And even though the author is a Christian, his explanations of other religions were mostly unbiased, making this a great resource for anyone, Christian or not. (I do recognize that, as a Christian myself, I may have missed biases others would have caught, but I did try to read with that in mind.)

I learned TONS from this book and recommend it for anyone who wants to know more about world religions, even the smaller ones like Sikhism and Zoroastrianism. It’s a great book to read through and keep on hand for reference.

Bethany House also has books on understanding the Bible and theology that break topics down into fifteen-minute segments. I’m looking forward to reading those as well.

*I received a copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my review. My opinion of this book is my own and was not influenced by the publisher or the author.

Leave a Reply

