You Can Have My Leg

I came across this inspiring story on the Compassion International blog the other day (Click here to see the original post).

This video just about broke my heart. But it reminded me why I love Compassion International and the work they’re doing to care for kids and their families across the world by meeting their physical and spiritual needs.

I’ve been involved with Compassion since 2006. My husband and I sponsor a 12-year-old girl from Burkina Faso and a 10-year-old boy from Colombia. Through letters, pictures, and gifts, we’ve developed relationships with these kids from very different parts of the world. I’ve grown to love them both in ways I never thought I would.

That relational element is what makes Compassion different from other sponsorship organizations I’ve heard of. I love getting regular pictures and letters from Pierrette and Marlon. They give us updates on their families and studies and they share their favorite Bible verses. We even get drawings. And sometimes they ask heart-breaking questions like, “Dear sponsor, are you going to come to Burkina Faso to see me?”

Though we’re not able to make visits (at least not yet), I know our money, prayers, and letters make a difference in the lives of these children. I have been so blessed by the two precious kids God has brought into our lives.

Want to find out more? Click here to learn about sponsoring a child through Compassion.

Leave a Reply

