Writing Tip Wednesday: Postponed Due to Technical Difficulties

But if you really want a writing tip, here it is: Make sure you have a computer that works. Emphasis on the works.

My husband has the good computer today. And I was happy to let him have it—his job trumps my blog posts because, well, it helps put dinner on the table. Anyway . . . I packed up the old computer and headed off to Starbucks knowing it was going to take awhile to get things started up. But I didn’t care because I was going to get a whole hour to write before going to work.

When I got to Starbucks, I sat down at my regular table and started my computer before I ordered, knowing it would need the extra time. But when I got back to the table and it looked like this:

I knew it was going to be one of those mornings.

This is the computer I bought for college back in 2006. It served me well, but I think it now suffers from Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder. Not sure why, because college wasn’t overly stressful for me. But maybe it’s because I bought the cheapest computer I could find. I don’t know.

Turning it on is an hour-long ordeal (at least). And once it’s on, I have to hope the screen is actually going to work. You’ve heard of the blue screen of death? I get this instead:

Tilting the screen back and forth works sometimes, but usually it just makes things worse.

And then it makes this awful noise! I think it’s a bad fan, but it really just sounds like a weed whacker. If you want attention, take my computer to Starbucks. You’ll turn heads, I promise.

Some day, hopefully in the near future, we’re going to replace it. We’re thinking about an iPad. Or maybe a laptop and a Kindle. I’ve wanted an e-reader for the last two years, and now might be my chance to get one. But is an iPad the best of both worlds? Do you have one? What do you think?

In the meantime, I’m writing my blog posts in a notebook and heading to work early to type them.

Do you have a computer like mine? Or maybe you have a car you’re sucking every last ounce of life from? I’d love to hear your stories. It’s always nice to know I’m not the only one : )

One thought on “Writing Tip Wednesday: Postponed Due to Technical Difficulties

Leave a Reply

